View more on these topics

Treasury names FCA board

Baigrie Davies director Amanda Davidson
Baigrie Davies director Amanda Davidson

The Treasury has named the 12 members of the Financial Conduct Authority board, which includes Baigrie Davies director Amanda Davidson.

The four executive members are FCA chief executive Martin Wheatley, director of enforcement and financial crime Tracey McDermott, director of supervision Clive Adamson and chief operating officer Lesley Titcomb.

FCA chair John Griffith-Jones and Prudential Regulation Authority chief executive Andrew Bailey are non-executive directors alongside former FSA board members Mick McAteer, Sir Brian Pomeroy and Davidson.

They will be joined by three new non-executive directors, including National Savings and Investments chief executive Jane Platt, former Citizens Advice chief executive David Harker and Office of Fair Trading chief economist Amelia Fletcher.

Griffith-Jones says: “The creation of a new financial regulator is a once in a generation event and the regulatory objectives set out for the FCA by Parliament demand a wide skill set. Therefore, I am especially pleased with the range and depth of experience of our new board, as we embark on the FCA journey.”

Yellowtail Financial Planning managing director Dennis Hall says: “I am not seeing enough people who have worked at the sharp end. Amanda Davidson is a start but there are too many people from big organisations and quangos. I would have liked to have seen more of a mix of people appointed to the board to better hold the regulator to account.”


News and expert analysis straight to your inbox

Sign up


    Leave a comment