View more on these topics

Tisa confirms adviser protocol committee members


The Tax Incentivised Savings Association has confirmed the 20 members of its adviser protocol executive committee.

The committee includes Raymond James head of business development David Hazelton, Tenet distribution and development director Keith Richards, Succession Advisory Service chief executive Simon Chamberlain, St James’s Place establishment director Mike Gravestock and Ernst & Young executive director Macolm Kerr. It will be chaired by Tisa director of policy Malcolm Small.

The committee will hold its first meeting on 20 September.

In February, Money Marketing revealed that Tisa would look to develop industry consensus on how restrictive covenants should apply in financial services in the aftermath of the Towry case against Raymond James and seven former Edward Jones advisers.

In June, the industry body announced it was seeking applications for the committee.

Small (pictured) says: “We have now got sufficient applications and can confirm the names of those who will form an executive committee seeking to examine whether protocol can be achieved in the UK.”

At a Tisa seminar on restrictive covenants in June, Towry chief executive Andrew Fisher said it would be “impossible” to develop industry-wide standard protocol on restrictive covenants.

In the United States, broker protocol was developed in 2004 to reduce litigation and forego the enforcement of restrictive covenants.

Tisa adviser protocol executive committee:

Barclays Wealth director of investments Ian Ackerley

Cartlidge Morland partner Andrew Cartlidge

Ernst & Young executive director Malcolm Kerr

Faegre Baker Daniels partner Robert Campbell

Fidelity head of personal investing Mark Till

IFA Centre managing director Gill Cardy

Intrinsic investment propositions director Frank Potaczek

Kensingtons managing director Steve Roach

Legal and General director of platforms and distribution division Peter Smith

Legal and General sales director Paul Measures

Nationwide senior manager of distribution Alan Brown

Pinsent Mason partner John Salmon

Raymond James head of business development David Hazelton

Raymond James head of compliance and legal Mark de St Croix

St James’s Place establishment director Mike Gravestock

Standard Life head of retail marketing Dave McGovern

Succession Advisory Service chief executive Simon Chamberlain

Syndaxi consulting director Roderic Rennison

Tenet distribution and development director Keith Richards

Tisa director of policy Malcolm Small


News and expert analysis straight to your inbox

Sign up


    Leave a comment


    Why register with Money Marketing ?

    Providing trusted insight for professional advisers.  Since 1985 Money Marketing has helped promote and analyse the financial adviser community in the UK and continues to be the trusted industry brand for independent insight and advice.

    News & analysis delivered directly to your inbox
    Register today to receive our range of news alerts including daily and weekly briefings

    Money Marketing Events
    Be the first to hear about our industry leading conferences, awards, roundtables and more.

    Research and insight
    Take part in and see the results of Money Marketing's flagship investigations into industry trends.

    Have your say
    Only registered users can post comments. As the voice of the adviser community, our content generates robust debate. Sign up today and make your voice heard.

    Register now

    Having problems?

    Contact us on +44 (0)20 7292 3712

    Lines are open Monday to Friday 9:00am -5.00pm