View more on these topics

Three reappointed to FSCS board

The FSA has reappointed three non-executive directors to the board of the Financial Services Compensation Scheme, effective from 1 June 2008.

Terry Connor, Sandy Kinney and Chris Woodburn will all remain on the board.

Connor began his career as a media analyst for James Capel & Co and Smith New Court. He joined Mirror Group plc in 1993 and became executive director as part of the team appointed to rebuild the company. He is a non-executive director of Kleinwort Capital Trust plc, the Shephard Group, Which? and Activate UK.

Kinney retired as a senior financial services partner at PricewaterhouseCoopers, as previously at KPMG. She is a non-executive director of Skipton Building Society and an advisor on risk and performance management to the boards of a number of insurance companies and investment banks.

Woodburn is a member of the Investigation Committee of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales. He is a former chief executive of the General Insurance Standards Council and former chief executive of the Securities and Futures Authority.



The first Financial Services Act was passed 20 years ago. Few people will remember the early fumblings of the various bodies appointed to self-regulate their various financial sectors. They were too cosy and did not really know what was required but, by hell, they would now.

Guidance online for TCF

Online compliance consultant Joanne Roberts has released TCF guidance notes for advisers at


News and expert analysis straight to your inbox

Sign up


    Leave a comment