View more on these topics

Skandia extends range of critical illness cover

Skandia has expanded its critical illness policies to cover more diseases and increased the maximum age of applicants to 67.

The firm has removed Multiple System Atrophy and Progressive Supranuclear Palsy and replaced them with the all-encompassing Parkinson Plus Syndromes.

CI Expert says the new definition covers other conditions that permanently impair motor function, eye movement and postural instability.

In addition, Skandia has widened its definition of blindness to include limiting the central visual field to no more than 20 degrees when it previously stipulated 10 degrees.

In its definition of liver disease it has dropped the specific requirement for cirrhosis. It has also introduced a new partial payment in low grade testicular cancer.

Skandia’s critical illness policy now covers 43 full conditions and 13 partial payment conditions.

Finally, it has increased its maximum age for applicants from 65 to 67 and extended the expiry age from 75 to 80.

All changes are being backdated to April 2013.

CI Expert founder Alan Lakey says: “This is one of the rare instances where less really is more. The alteration increase the likelihood of a claim being met for number of neurological conditions that have similar outcomes to Parkinson’s, MSA or PSP but are not diagnosed as such.”


News and expert analysis straight to your inbox

Sign up


    Leave a comment


    Why register with Money Marketing ?

    Providing trusted insight for professional advisers. Since 1985 Money Marketing has helped promote and analyse the financial adviser community in the UK and continues to be the trusted industry brand for independent insight and advice.

    News & analysis delivered directly to your inbox
    Register today to receive our range of news alerts including daily and weekly briefings

    Money Marketing Events
    Be the first to hear about our industry leading conferences, awards, roundtables and more.

    Research and insight
    Take part in and see the results of Money Marketing's flagship investigations into industry trends.

    Have your say
    Only registered users can post comments. As the voice of the adviser community, our content generates robust debate. Sign up today and make your voice heard.

    Register now

    Having problems?

    Contact us on +44 (0)20 7292 3712

    Lines are open Monday to Friday 9:00am -5.00pm