Roberts aims to continue HMRC dialogue as he takes over chair at Amps

The Association of Member-Directed Pension Schemes has appointed Barnett Waddingham partner Andrew Roberts as chairman.

Roberts replaces Rowanmoor Pensions head of pensions technical services Robert Graves, who is stepping down as chairman but has been re-elected to the Amps committee.

Roberts says: “Our focus this year will be to continue to work closely with HM Revenue and Customs and the FSA so the underlying pension inv-estors can have confidence in the self-invested pension industry. The economy dep-ends on the success of small to medium-sized businesses and many of these rely on the support of their directors’ pension schemes, no more so than during such tough economic times.”

James Hay head of technical support Neil MacGillivray becomes honorary secretary at the Sipp and Ssas provider trade body.

DP Pensions director Elaine Turtle has been named honorary treasurer and Killik & Co head of pensions administration Geoff Buck becomes membership secretary.

Earlier this month, Suffolk Life finance director Renata Chester and Berkeley Burke & Co senior technical administrator Zachary Gallagher were appointed to the trade body’s committee.