View more on these topics

Parliament’s youngest MP joins Work and Pensions committee


The youngest MP elected for more than 300 years is to join Parliament’s Work and Pensions select committee.

Mhairi Black, aged 20, was elected in Paisley and South Renfrewshire in May, defeating Labour campaign chief Douglas Alexander.

Black joins the committee as the Scottish National Party’s sole representative.

She will sit alongside six Conservative MPs, and five Labour MPs on a committee chaired by Labour’s Frank Field.

Black is also working with SNP pensions spokesman Ian Blackford to develop the party’s pension policy.

Fellow SNP representative George Kerevan will take the party’s sole seat on the Treasury Select Committee, chaired by Conservative MP Andrew Tyrie.

Alongside five Conservatives, Kerevan will be joined on the committee by firebrand Labour MP John Mann.

Mann sat on the committee through all of the last Parliament, becoming a vocal critic of HSBC during allegations of tax evasion at the firm’s Swiss private bank, prompting one Conservative fellow committee member to warn against a “witch-hunt”.

Mann was selected by the Labour party yesterday alongside former Redbridge councillor and Stonewall head of Education Wes Streeting.

The pair are joined by Helen Goodman and Bill Esterson.

The quartet replace the retired Andy Love, Rushanara Ali, Teresa Pearce and Mike Kane.

Labour has also selected Debbie Abrahams, Karen Buck and Emma Lewell-Buck to sit on the Work and Pensions committee.


Andrew Tyrie Tory conf 2013.jpg

Tyrie re-elected Treasury committee chair

Andrew Tyrie is to remain as chairman of the Treasury select committee after challengers failed to emerge for the role. Tyrie led the committee throughout the last parliament, becoming a high profile critic of the FCA and the Bank of England, as well as the wider financial services sector. In one of the committee’s final […]

Frank Field to chair Work and Pensions committee

Long-serving Labour MP Frank Field has been elected to chair the House of Commons’ work and pensions committee. Field, who has been in Parliament since 1979, defeated fellow Labour MPs Teresa Pearce and Kate Green in a poll of all parliamentarians. Field has been a long-time campaigner on poverty issues, and served as David Cameron’s […]

Conservatives select six new MPs for Work and Pensions committee

The Conservatives have selected six new members for their contingent on the Work and Pensions committee. The appointments mean Conservative MPs including Nigel Mills, Paul Maynard, Anne Marie Morris, Kwasi Kwarteng and Graham Evans lose their seats on the committee, which will be chaired by Labour’s Frank Field. Pensions all party parliamentary group chairman Richard […]


AJ Bell to add auto-disinvestment function

AJ Bell is making technical changes to its platform that will allow advisers to disinvest assets automatically. Following the RDR most platforms enabled auto-disinvestment to allow advisers to take charges from cash accounts. But AJ Bell did not make the changes necessary, a policy it said was in line with other providers that had roots in […]


News and expert analysis straight to your inbox

Sign up


There are 2 comments at the moment, we would love to hear your opinion too.

  1. So a new MP, not even finished at Uni is part of the Work and Pensions committee? I am wondering what exactly Ms Black knows about either work or pensions? Not a lot I would guess…

  2. So she has never worked, and is at least 50 years away from drawing a pension. I bet she will be a useful addition to the committee.

Leave a comment