View more on these topics

Miliband shuffles his pack: Introducing Labour’s new Treasury team

Labour leader Ed Miliband shuffled his ministerial pack this week as he gears his opposition MPs for the general election in 2015.

Most changes were confined to the junior ministerial ranks, apart from Rachel Reeves who moved from shadow Treasury chief secretary to shadow Department for Work and Pensions secretary.

Here is Labour’s new Treasury team, which will lead the party’s economic and financial services policies:

Shadow Chancellor Ed Balls

Ed Balls is the only member of Labour’s Treasury team to keep his place after this week’s reshuffle. He served as Treasury economic secretary under Tony Blair’s Government before moving to Education Secretary when Gordon Brown became Prime Minister in 2007. He replaced Alan Johnson as shadow chancellor in January 2011.

Balls, who shadows George Osborne, has been described by Prime Minister David Cameron as “the most annoying man in politics” and leads Labour’s economic policy.


Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury Chris Leslie

Chris Leslie has been promoted from Treasury financial secretary to a cabinet position shadowing Danny Alexander and shaping the opposition’s economic policies.

His predecessor Rachel Reeves has moved to Department of Work and Pensions secretary replacing Liam Byrne.

Leslie served as MP for Shipley from 1997 to 2005 and is currently the elected member for Nottingham East since 2010. He served as under-secretary of state for the deputy prime minister and also for constitutional affairs under Tony Blair.

In his previous role he led Labour’s response to the Financial Services Act 2012 and banking reform bill.


Shadow Treasury financial secretary Cathy Jamieson

Cathy Jamieson has been promoted from shadow Treasury economic secretary to lead the opposition’s charge on the banking bill and financial services.

She follows her opposite number Sajid Javid who was also promoted from Treasury economic secretary to Treasury financial secretary in the Government reshuffle.

Jamieson was elected MP for Kilmarnock and Loudon in 2010 after serving in the Scottish Parliament from 1999 to 2011.

She was briefly Scottish Labour leader in 2008 as well as minister for justice, minister for education and deputy leader.

Shadow Treasury economic secretary Catherine McKinnell

Catherine McKinnell has also been moved up a peg from Treasury exchequer secretary to shadow her new counterpart Nicky Morgan.

Former solicitor McKinnell was elected MP for Newcastle upon Tyne North in 2010 and joined the Treasury team in October 2012.

Shadow Treasury exchequer secretary Shabana Mahmood

Shabana Mahmood has been promoted to the Treasury team also after being elected in 2010 to succeed former cabinet minister Clare Short as MP for Birmingham Ladywood.

Mahmoud is a former barrister and will shadow David Gauke with responsibility for HMRC and tax avoidance issues. 


News and expert analysis straight to your inbox

Sign up


    Leave a comment


    Why register with Money Marketing ?

    Providing trusted insight for professional advisers.  Since 1985 Money Marketing has helped promote and analyse the financial adviser community in the UK and continues to be the trusted industry brand for independent insight and advice.

    News & analysis delivered directly to your inbox
    Register today to receive our range of news alerts including daily and weekly briefings

    Money Marketing Events
    Be the first to hear about our industry leading conferences, awards, roundtables and more.

    Research and insight
    Take part in and see the results of Money Marketing's flagship investigations into industry trends.

    Have your say
    Only registered users can post comments. As the voice of the adviser community, our content generates robust debate. Sign up today and make your voice heard.

    Register now

    Having problems?

    Contact us on +44 (0)20 7292 3712

    Lines are open Monday to Friday 9:00am -5.00pm