Labour MPs Pearce and McFadden appointed to TSC

Labour MP’s Pat McFadden and Teresa Pearce have been appointed to the Treasury select committee.

The pair were given the nod for the role in the House of Commons last night. They replace Labour MPs John Cryer and Tom Blenkinsop.

Before becoming MP for Erith and Thamesmead in May 2010 Pearce worked at the Inland Revenue and PricewaterhouseCoopers where she was a senior manager in tax investigations team. She says she wants to use this experience to focus on the tax system.

She says: “Our tax system needs to be fairer and work better. I will make sure the Chancellor and his Treasury are held to account for their tax and economic policies. There is a lot of work that needs to be done highlighting how people at the bottom of the income ladder are being hurt by the Government.”

McFadden has been MP for Wolverhampton South East. He has no financial services experience but was minister for employment relations and postal affairs in the Department for Innovation and Skills from 2007-2010. After the 2010 election he was Shadow Business Secretary until John Denham was given the role in Ed Miliband’s first reshuffle as Labour leader.

He says: “I have not been on a select committee before so I have a lot to learn. I just hope I can make a valuable contribution to the committee’s work.”