View more on these topics

Interim FPC first meeting on June 16

The interim Financial Policy Committee will hold its first formal meeting on June 16.

The FPC will sit within the Bank of England and will contribute to its financial stability objective by identifying, monitoring and taking action to remove or reduce systemic risks.

The Government confirmed the interim FPC’s establishment in February and it will operate until the new regulatory architecture is in place which under current plans is expected to be late 2012.

The interim committee will release its first financial stability report on the June 24.

Part of the its work will be to consider what macro-economic tools the permanent committee should have and make recommendations to the Treasury on its findings.

The interim committee is made up of 13 members including governor Mervyn King, deputy governor for financial stability Paul Tucker, Financial Services Authority chairman Lord Turner and FSA chief executive Hector Sants.

The committee has four external members and two non-voting members, including Financial Conduct Authority chief executive designate Martin Wheatley.


News and expert analysis straight to your inbox

Sign up


    Leave a comment


    Why register with Money Marketing ?

    Providing trusted insight for professional advisers.  Since 1985 Money Marketing has helped promote and analyse the financial adviser community in the UK and continues to be the trusted industry brand for independent insight and advice.

    News & analysis delivered directly to your inbox
    Register today to receive our range of news alerts including daily and weekly briefings

    Money Marketing Events
    Be the first to hear about our industry leading conferences, awards, roundtables and more.

    Research and insight
    Take part in and see the results of Money Marketing's flagship investigations into industry trends.

    Have your say
    Only registered users can post comments. As the voice of the adviser community, our content generates robust debate. Sign up today and make your voice heard.

    Register now

    Having problems?

    Contact us on +44 (0)20 7292 3712

    Lines are open Monday to Friday 9:00am -5.00pm