View more on these topics

FSSC developing shared units

The Financial Services Skills Council is likely to develop shared units forcing award- ing bodies to use identical content in core modules as part of the RDR’s QCF level four qualification.

Director of skills development Sarah Thwaites says the Qualifications and Curriculum Development Agency, which owns the QCF framework, is developing a system of shared units. She says: “The idea is that, where appropriate, shared units developed with the industry can be used by awarding bodies to provide more transfer opportunities for those taking the qualifications.”

She says the FSSC is developing units for QCF level four which are likely to be shared by all the awarding bodies.

Securities & Investment Institute managing director Ruth Martin says: “We do not believe a one-size-fits-all approach is appropriate in a sector with so many different job roles.”



Hot ashes

Ishall tell you a story about a very acquisitive, rapidly growing IFA. Over a period of a few years, it accumulated businesses, staff and clients and boasted after a few years of being a major distributor of financial products.Meanwhile, the average IFA kept his head down, worked hard, serviced his clients and looked on in […]

7IM attracts over £1bn AUM

Seven Investment Management has exceeded £1bn of assets under management in its multi manager and multi asset class funds.


News and expert analysis straight to your inbox

Sign up


    Leave a comment