View more on these topics

Conservatives select six new MPs for Work and Pensions committee


The Conservatives have selected six new members for their contingent on the Work and Pensions committee.

The appointments mean Conservative MPs including Nigel Mills, Paul Maynard, Anne Marie Morris, Kwasi Kwarteng and Graham Evans lose their seats on the committee, which will be chaired by Labour’s Frank Field.

Pensions all party parliamentary group chairman Richard Graham is among those joining the committee, returning after a short stint in 2010.

Graham had sought election as chair of the foreign affairs committee, but was beaten by Crispin Blunt.

Graham is joined by John Glen, who sat on the defence committee during the last Parliament.

Also joining the committee are four of Parliament’s newest Conservative intake: Craig McKinlay, Craig Williams, Jeremy Quin and Heidi Allen.

McKinlay, who defeated Nigel Farage in the constituency of Thanet South, was previously a partner in a Kent based chartered accountancy and a volunteer at charity Tax Help for Older People.

Prior to joining Parliament, Quin held roles in financial institutions including Natwest Securities and Deutsche Bank, and also served a secondment at the Treasury during 2008 and 2009 under the Labour government.

Williams replaced the chair of the APPG for insurance and financial services Jonathan Evans in the seat of Cardiff North, and is a former Cardiff City councillor, where he served as chairman of the economy and culture committee.

Allen has held roles at ExxonMobile and Royal Mail, and prior to her election in May as the MP for South Cambridgeshire was managing director of a family manufacturing business based in Yorkshire.

The Conservative Party has also selected its members for the Treasury Select Committee, while Labour is expected to confirm its selections imminently.


MPs go head to head to scrutinise pensions policy

A former PwC tax investigator, a poverty campaigner and a politician of more than 30 years are to go head to head for the leadership of the Work and Pensions select committee. The committee will again be chaired by a Labour MP during this Parliament, following negotiations between party whips. Former accountant Teresa Pearce has […]


Conservatives reveal Treasury committee members

The Conservatives have confirmed the five MPs who will represent the party on the influential Treasury committee. Steve Baker, who launched Conservatives For Britain to call for a European exit if Prime Minister David Cameron fails to secure radical reforms, was one of five Tories elected in a meeting of the Conservatives’ 1922 committee. He […]

Frank Field to chair Work and Pensions committee

Long-serving Labour MP Frank Field has been elected to chair the House of Commons’ work and pensions committee. Field, who has been in Parliament since 1979, defeated fellow Labour MPs Teresa Pearce and Kate Green in a poll of all parliamentarians. Field has been a long-time campaigner on poverty issues, and served as David Cameron’s […]

Chris Davies: Occupying the middle ground as a cyber-adviser

Never in a month of Sundays did I think my MSc in Organisational Psychology would be useful within the retail financial advice industry. After all, this sector is highly transactional, conservative in approach to change and driven by tight regulations. Yet we have seen great interest in how new technologies are developing and can be […]


News and expert analysis straight to your inbox

Sign up


    Leave a comment