This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here.

MPs rubber-stamp members of the Budget responsibility committee

  • Print
  • Comment

The Treasury select committee has rubber-stamped the appointment of Professor Stephen Nickell and Graham Parker to become members of the Budget responsibility committee.

The pair were grilled by the committee yesterday to ensure they had  the competence and independence required of the roles, using new powers given to the committee by Chancellor George Osborne.

TSC chairman Andrew Tyrie says: “I congratulate both Professor Stephen Nickell and Graham Parker on their appointments. Both have been appointed after the welcome extension of the Committee’s powers to veto the appointment and dismissal of BRC members.

“We accelerated the appointment process for both Professor Stephen Nickell and Graham Parker to ensure the OBR is up and running as soon as possible. In future, we will delay appointments to the BRC if we are given insufficient time by the Treasury to conduct such hearings.”

  • Print
  • Comment

Daily Email Updates
If you enjoyed this article, sign up to receive the latest news and analysis from Money Marketing.

Money Marketing Awards 2015
Put your firm forward as the leading practitioner in your field. Adviser and Advertising categories are open to entries - Enter Now.

Have your sayEdit my profile/screen name

You must sign in to make a comment

Fund Data

Editor's Pick


How do you plan to vote at the general election?

Job of the week

Latest jobs

View all jobs

Most recent comments

View more comments